For those of you who have gone and bought a Viore PLC7v95 portable TV that I discussed before, you may have found something missing. While transferring some movies to the unit, I found that it’s picky about formats. Unfortunately, Viore doesn’t describe what formats are compatible with their units. Nothing in the manual, nothing on the website.

A quick search and I find that this is a common problem, with many buyers complaining and much speculation of what does and doesn’t work. Even when Viore tech support joins the fray, they offered little more than confirmation that is a real problem. Amazingly, they say that only certain formats will work, but won’t generally disclose what those formats are.

Fortunately, after emailing the company myself, I receive one of the most helpful responses from a tech support provider I have ever received in the history of tech support. Here’s what I was given:


Specification

1. MP3

Support all mp3 file

2. JPEG

File Format

support

EXIF

YES

JFIF

YES

Compress type

support

Progressive DCT

NO

Lossless

NO

baseline sequential DCT

YES

3. MPEG 4

l Only support AVI file

Profile

MPEG4 SP (Level 3)

352×288 @ 30frames/sec Max bitrate:384bits/s

MPEG4 ASP (Level 5)

720×576 @ 30frames/sec

Max bitrate:8000bits/s

Format

support

DIVX3.11

NO

DIVX4.0

YES*

DIVX5.0

YES*

XviD

YES

WMV9

NO

*Feature not support: DRM , AES decryption, GMC

AUDIO/ File Format

support

MP2

YES*

MP3

YES

AC3

YES

AAC

NO

AMR

NO

PCM

YES*

* uncommon, but appear in DIVX conformance testing bit stream.

4 USB

USB 2.0 full function (mass storage class)

5 Card reader

Support SD/MMC/MS/MSPRO


Though it’s just what I wanted, even this was incomplete. I load a few reformatted videos, and TADA! It works beautifully. But, I then load the wife’s copy of “Sound of Music” ripped right from the DVD. Formatted in Xvid with AC3 audio, it should have been a snap. What I find is the sound is totally out of sync with the video. Version works on my other portable devices, but not Viore. Oh well.

Still some details were needed, but overall, Viore is pretty good player. Anyway, I find myself making custom versions of any movie I want to play for each portable device I have. That’s normal. My only complaints otherwise are the poor controls (Pause, FF, RR, etc. are missing?), and complete lack of DTV performance in northern Ohio.

Admittedly, DTV signal isn’t Viore’s fault. I found this problem when I first tried using my mobile DTV in my car- only got a Jesus channel and an AM radio simulcast from a local high school. The Cleveland and Toledo channels that served this area for decades are now gone. Home DTV antennas can only get so big or go so high. Portables are still useless. When analog disappeared, so did air service to north-central Ohio.

Viore is a solid product. Controls have a steep learning curve, but it’s bright, hi-res screen and many features more than make-up for any shortcomings. And, I know that DTV is still expanding here, so I just have to be patient. If you have DTV in your area (verified by YOU directly, not some through some advertising crap), than Viore PLC7v95 would be a fine companion.