EGGS

 

For the last 5 months, I’ve been noticing something different in my grocery store.  My eggs seem smaller.

 

No, it’s not a personal problem.

 

The normal “large” size eggs we usually buy seemed to be shrinking every week we’d go shopping. I thought it was just the brand carried by our local Meijer store, until I was mixing-up some batter for a perch-fry at my mom’s house in September. Her Wal-mart extra-large’s seem a bit medium-ish.  An industry trend, or am I just seeing things?

 

Measuring the new batch won’t do me any good because I have nothing to compare it to (Sorry- I didn’t think too much about egg-measuring this spring).  Smaller eggs might be easier on the chickens, but not on my wallet. If any of you have some clue about this or have seen it yourself, I would really appreciate it.